Arizona’s state-wide ban on cellphone use while behind the wheel was implemented effective Jan. 1, 2021, but will exclude use of hands-free devices, GPS functionalities, and when calling 911, according to ABC 15.
This law prohibits drivers from using a cellphone or a stand-alone electronic device while driving unless it is being used in a hands-free mode. This includes, but is not limited to, cellphones, tablets, music and gaming devices, according to the Arizona Department of Public Safety.
Drivers who are caught in violation of the law could be fined between $75 and $149 for a first violation. Fines for subsequent violations could be between $150 and $250.
The new Arizona Law was passed in 2019, and the initial bill was introduced by Arizona State Sen. Kate Brophy McGee following the death of Salt River Police Officer Clayton Townsend, who was hit by a distracted driver while conducting a traffic stop, according to KTAR News.
Originally posted on Automotive Fleet